Hours and Minutes

It hurts the most when we’re apart.
I trace my footsteps around the rim
walking in circles
as if lost in a desert
counting the minutes until
you effortlessly dance back into view.

It is those last few minutes that are the longest.
A warmth blossoms in my chest
An anticipation.
You are the Sun
ascending over the horizon.
liquefying my joints
accelerating my heart
shaking my fingers
trembling my breath
nurturing the smile upon my face

Breathlessly,
We come together.
I take in your polymer skin
with intertwining hands
and silhouettes outlined by lips
we tick away in a synchronized bliss.

One Comment on “Hours and Minutes”

  1. lana says:

    I enjoy reading your poem and I like it very much!
    I admire your talent of expressing thoughts and feelings.


Leave a Reply

