Cliff Diving

Cautiously, I repositioned my feet and braced myself against the playful gusts. My eyes peered over the edge, following the gravel as it descended from cliff to water.

The ocean roared at the preemptive sacrifice, waves foaming with bloodlust.

In another step – the brink. But I could go no further.

As I began to turn, a child appeared beside me on the cliff: a son I would have in thirty years’ time. My own disappointed eyes looked back at me: Had I not followed through? Had my stories of peril and grandeur been mere myth?

I grinned at the kid.
And we jumped together.

Leave a Reply

